Sir William Gerald Golding 19 September 1911 – 19 June 1993 was a British novelist, playwright, and poet. 

Best known for his debut novel Lord of the Flies (1954), he published another twelve volumes of fiction in his lifetime. In 1980, he was awarded the Booker Prize for Rites of Passage, the first novel in what became his sea trilogy, To the Ends of the Earth. He was awarded the 1983 Nobel Prize in Literature. As a result of his contributions to literature, Golding was knighted in 1988.He was a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. In 2008, The Times ranked Golding third on its list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945".


Lord of the Flies (1954)

The Inheritors (1955)

Pincher Martin (1956)

Free Fall (1959)

The Spire (1964)

The Pyramid (1967)

Darkness Visible (1979) (James Tait Black Memorial Prize)

To the Ends of the Earth (trilogy)

Rites of Passage (1980) (Booker Prize)

Close Quarters (1987)

Fire Down Below (1989)

The Paper Men (1984)

The Double Tongue (posthumous publication 1995)[40]

The Scorpion God (1971)

"The Scorpion God"

"Clonk Clonk"

"Envoy Extraordinary"


Poems (1934)


The Brass Butterfly (1958)


The Hot Gates (1965)

A Moving Target (1982)

An Egyptian Journal (1985)