Stella Dorothea Gibbons 5 January 1902 – 19 December 1989 was an English author, journalist, and poet. 

She established her reputation with her first novel, Cold Comfort Farm (1932) which has been reprinted many times. Although she was active as a writer for half a century, none of her later 22 novels or other literary works—which included a sequel to Cold Comfort Farm—achieved the same critical or popular success. Much of her work was long out of print before a modest revival in the 21st century.


Cold Comfort Farm. London: Longmans. 1932. 

Bassett. London: Longmans. 1934. 

Enbury Heath. London: Longmans. 1935. 

Miss Linsey and Pa. London: Longmans. 1936. 

Nightingale Wood. London: Longmans. 1938. 

My American. London: Longmans. 1939. 

The Rich House. London: Longmans. 1941.

Ticky. London: Longmans. 1943. 

The Bachelor. London: Longmans. 1944. 

Westwood, or The Gentle Powers. London: Longmans. 1946. 

The Matchmaker. London: Longmans. 1949. 

Conference at Cold Comfort Farm. London: Longmans 1949. 

The Swiss Summer. London: Longmans. 1951. 

Fort of the Bear. London: Longmans. 1953. 

The Shadow of a Sorcerer. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1955. 

Here Be Dragons. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1956. 

White Sand and Grey Sand. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1958.

A Pink Front Door. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1959. 

The Weather at Tregulla. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1962. 

The Wolves Were in the Sledge. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1964. 

The Charmers. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1965. 

Starlight. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1967. 

The Snow Woman. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1968. 

The Woods in Winter. London: Hodder and Stoughton. 1970. 

Pure Juliet (formerly An Alpha ). London: Vintage Classics. 2016. 

The Yellow Houses. London: Vintage Classics. 2016. 

Short Stories

Roaring Tower and other stories. London: Longmans. 1937. 

Christmas at Cold Comfort Farm and other stories. London: Longmans. 1940. 

Beside the Pearly Water. London: Peter Nevill. 1954. 

Children's books

The Untidy Gnome. London: Longmans. 1935. 


The Mountain Beast. London: Longmans. 1930.

The Priestess and other poems. London: Longmans. 1934.

The Lowland Venus. London: Longmans. 1938. 

Collected Poems. London: Longmans. 1950.