Elizabeth Bowen 7 June 1899 – 22 February 1973 was an Irish-British novelist.

She was a short story writer notable for her books about the "big house" of Irish landed Protestants as well her fiction about life in wartime London. Elizabeth Dorothea Cole Bowen was born on 7 June 1899 at 15 Herbert Place in Dublin, daughter of barrister Henry Charles Cole Bowen (1862–1930), who succeeded his father as head of their Irish gentry family traced back to the late 1500s, of Welsh origin, and Florence Isabella Pomeroy (died 1912), daughter of Henry FitzGeorge Pomeroy Colley, of Mount Temple, ClA ontarf, Dublin, grandson of the 4th Viscount Harberton. 


The Hotel (1927)

The Last September (1929)

Friends and Relations (1931)

To the North (1932)

The House in Paris (1935)

The Death of the Heart (1938)

The Heat of the Day (1948)

A World of Love (1955)

The Little Girls (1964)

Eva Trout (1968)

Short story collections

Encounters (1923)

Ann Lee's and Other Stories (1926)

Joining Charles and Other Stories (1929)

The Cat Jumps and Other Stories (1934)

Look at All Those Roses (1941)

The Demon Lover and Other Stories (1945)

Ivy Gripped the Steps and Other Stories (1946, USA)

Stories by Elizabeth Bowen (1959)

A Day in the Dark and Other Stories (1965)

The Good Tiger (1965, children's book) - illustrated by M. Nebel (1965 edition) and Quentin Blake (1970 edition)

Elizabeth Bowen's Irish Stories (1978)

The Collected Stories of Elizabeth Bowen (1980)

The Bazaar and Other Stories (2008) - edited by Allan Hepburn