Clive Staples Lewis 29 November 1898 – 22 November 1963 was a British writer, literary scholar, and Anglican lay theologian. He held academic positions in English literature at both Magdalen College, Oxford (1925–1954), and Magdalene College, Cambridge (1954–1963). He is best known as the author of The Chronicles of Narnia, but he is also noted for his other works of fiction, such as The Screwtape Letters and The Space Trilogy, and for his non-fiction Christian apologetics, including Mere Christianity, Miracles, and The Problem of Pain. Lewis was a close friend of J. R. R. Tolkien, author of The Lord of the Rings. Both men served on the English faculty at Oxford University and were active in the informal Oxford literary group known as the Inklings. According to Lewis's 1955 memoir Surprised by Joy, he was baptized in the Church of Ireland but fell away from his faith during adolescence. Lewis returned to Anglicanism at the age of 32, owing to the influence of Tolkien and other friends, and he became an "ordinary layman of the Church of England". Lewis's faith profoundly affected his work, and his wartime radio broadcasts on the subject of Christianity brought him wide acclaim.

Novels and Stories


The Allegory of Love: A Study in Medieval Tradition (1936)

Rehabilitations and other essays (1939)

The Personal Heresy: A Controversy (1939)

The Problem of Pain (1940)

A Preface to Paradise Lost (1942)

The Abolition of Man (1943)

Beyond Personality (1944)

Miracles: A Preliminary Study (1947)

Arthurian Torso (1948)

Mere Christianity (1952) - Özde hıristiyanlık (2009)

English Literature in the Sixteenth Century Excluding Drama (1954)

Major British Writers, Vol I (1954)

Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life (1955)

Reflections on the Psalms (1958)

The Four Loves (1960)

Studies in Words (1960)

An Experiment in Criticism (1961)

A Grief Observed (1961; ilk defa "N. W. Clerk" takma adıyla basıldı)

The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature (1964)

God in the Dock: Essays on Theology and Ethics (1970)

Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature (1966)

Spenser's Images of Life (1967)

Letters to an American Lady (1967)

Selected Literary Essays (1969)

Letters to Malcolm: Chiefly on Prayer (1972)

Of Other Worlds (1982; makaleler)

All My Road Before Me: The Diary of C. S. Lewis 1922-27 (1993)

Essay Collection: Literature, Philosophy and Short Stories (2000)

Essay Collection: Faith, Christianity and the Church (2000)

Collected Letters, Vol. I: Family Letters 1905-1931 (2000)

Collected Letters, Vol. II: Books, Broadcasts and War 1931-1949 (2004)