Paul Mark Scott 25 March 1920 – 1 March 1978 was an English novelist best known for his tetralogy The Raj Quartet.In the last years of his life, his novel Staying On won the Booker Prize (1977). 

The series of books was dramatised by Granada Television during the 1980s and won Scott the public and critical acclaim that he had not received during his lifetime.

Born in suburban London, Scott was posted to India, Burma and Malaya during World War II. On return to London he worked as a notable literary agent, before deciding to write full time from 1960. In 1964 he returned to India for a research trip, though he was struggling with ill health and alcoholism. From the material gathered he created the novels that would become The Raj Quartet. In the final years of his life he accepted a visiting professorship at the University of Tulsa, where much of his private archive is held.


The Jewel in the Crown (1966)

The Day of the Scorpion (1968)

The Towers of Silence (1971)

A Division of the Spoils (1975)

Johnnie Sahib (1952)

Six Days in Marapore (1953)

The Alien Sky (1953)

A Male Child (1956)

The Chinese Love Pavilion (1960)

The Birds of Paradise (1962)

The Bender (1963)

The Corrida at San Feliu (1964)

Staying On (1977)

The Mark of the Warrior (1979)

After the Funeral (1979)

The Making of the Jewel in the Crown (1983)

My Appointment with the Muse: Essays, 1961-75 (1986)

On Writing and the Novel: Essays (1987)

Behind Paul Scott's Raj Quartet: A Life in Letters: Volume I: The Early Years: 1940-1965 (2011)

Behind Paul Scott's Raj Quartet: A Life in Letters: Volume II: The Quartet and Beyond: 1966-1978