Arthur Evelyn St. John Waugh28 October 1903 – 10 April 1966 was an English writer of novels, biographies, and travel books; he was also a prolific journalist and book reviewer. 

His most famous works include the early satires Decline and Fall (1928) and A Handful of Dust (1934), the novel Brideshead Revisited (1945), and the Second World War trilogy Sword of Honour (1952–1961). He is recognised as one of the great prose stylists of the English language in the 20th century. 


Black Mischief

Brideshead Revisited

Decline and Fall

A Handful of Dust

Helena (Waugh novel)

Love Among the Ruins. A Romance of the Near Future

The Loved One (book)

Men at Arms (Waugh novel)

Officers and Gentlemen

The Ordeal of Gilbert Pinfold

Put Out More Flags


Scott-King's Modern Europe

Sword of Honour

The Temple at Thatch

Unconditional Surrender (novel)

Vile Bodies